Conexant HSF modem driver on Fedora 12


Previously, I wrote a document on the installation of a full speed driver for Conexant HSF modems on Fedora 11. That guide is valid for Fedora 12 too. However, some people have told me that their Fedora 12 is unable to boot after installing the driver using that guide. I’ve tried it and I successfully installed and used the driver under Fedora 12. However, as I’ve stated in that guide, I used the latest version of the Linuxant driver (which is 7.80.02.05 rather than 7.80.02.04 which was available on that time). As those guys who have booting problems both used 7.80.02.04 version, that might be a problem with that version. So I highly suggest everybody to always use the latest version of Linuxant driver with my script.

Also, I’ve updated my script to detect the version of the Linuxant driver beside it rather than hardcoding the version number in the script, so you don’t need to modify the script to use the latest version. Just download the latest version and put it beside the script, and run the script. For complete instructions, refer to the original guide.

Have fun

18 responses to this post.

  1. […] Go here to see the original:  Conexant HSF modem driver on Fedora 12 « Hedayat's Blog […]

    Reply

  2. […] more here:  Hedayat Vatankhah: Conexant HSF modem driver on Fedora 12 Share and […]

    Reply

  3. hmm, what about HCFs?

    Reply

    • Unfortunately, Dell has only released full speed drivers for HSF modems, which we can use to enable full speed functionality with the newer HSF drivers. AFAIK, there is no such (free) full speed drivers for HCF modems. 😦

      Reply

  4. Posted by RogerB on December 21, 2009 at 11:03 am

    I had problems with the startup of Fedora 12 after installing alsa-driver-linuxant-1.0.20.3-1.noarch.rpm.zip (http://www.linuxant.com/alsa-driver/). It was trying to create the kernel modules. I instead used the Fedora 11 rpm from the same web site, and this seems to work ok.

    Reply

    • I don’t know why that happens since I’ve tried 1.0.20.3-1.noarch version without any booting problems. BTW, thank you for reporting your experience and the solution, this could help some users. 🙂
      But I wonder how that have worked since those Fedora 11 rpms are kernel specific and should not work in Fedora 12!!

      Reply

  5. Posted by farhad on December 30, 2009 at 7:57 am

    عالیه .
    راستی در مورد گنوم 3 حق باشماست . منظورم همون gnome shell بود .

    Reply

  6. My problem is that I can not hear ANY sound when I installed this package. any idea?

    Reply

  7. I installed that package, now I only can hear pcbeap sound. I blacklisted related module. What’s the module now? And how can I retrive more sound from my laptop 🙂

    Reply

    • So, please uninstall all installed packages (hsf and alsa driver) and install them in the same order as I’ve written (hsf driver must be installed after the alsa driver, so that it can find that when compiling the driver). You should not need to blacklist anything yourself.

      Reply

  8. I did, but again I got the same result. Note that even when I remove both packages, I have no sound.

    Reply

    • That’s true that even after removing packages you have no sound (as the original alsa-driver is removed by conexant alsa driver). but you should have sound by installing the alsa driver only (reboots might be necessary).
      So, you can first just install conexant’s alsa-driver and reboot to see if you have your sound back. Then, install hsf modem to see if you still have sound.
      Also check Sound preference’s Hardware section to see if any hardware is listed (after installing the alsa driver)

      Reply

  9. I found that the driver is working well, the problem is that it’s not the default driver for alsa. I can play sound with xmms when I config it to use alsa and my intel sound card, but other applications can not play any sound. I also posted my problem here:
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?p=1315896#post1315896

    Reply

    • Wow! This is the first time that I see this happens. Maybe PulseAudio settings is not correct. What does your sound properties show in Hardware section? (System->Preferences->Sound)

      Reply

  10. the hardware section there does not contain any device!!!
    but vlc can find both canexant and intel devices when configuring alsa.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

