Barrelfish, My Thesis!


Yesterday, I read about a new OS called Barrelfish in this article in OS news. It is a collaboration between researchers at ETH Zurich and Microsoft Research, an open source multikernel operating system. I liked the idea and decided to get it; I was pretty shocked when I was reading its README file and saw that the OS is created on Linux! As an OS related to Microsoft, I didn’t expect it!😛

Anyway, it seems that this project is not much related to Microsoft itself, so being developed under Linux is not that shocking!

Well, now I’m much more interested in the OS as I can investigate it in Linux🙂.

***

Hey! Finally my M.S. thesis proposal is going to be accepted! I had a hard time finding an interesting (for me!) and new subject for my thesis; but finally it seems that I found it! The title is still not finalized, but should be something like “Autonomous Vision-Based Mapping And Environment Exploration For a Home Robot”, or maybe a little more detailed one by adding something like “Using Particle Filters” or something!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Seems cool.Good luck brother!
    It explains your absence from yahoo messenger very clear too!

    Reply

  2. […] Barrelfish, My Thesis! « Hedayat’s Blog a few seconds ago from kdemicroblog […]

    Reply

  3. […] Barrelfish, My Thesis! Yesterday, I read about a new OS called Barrelfish in this article in OS news. It is a collaboration between researchers at ETH Zurich and Microsoft Research, an open source multikernel operating system. I liked the idea and decided to get it; I was pretty shocked when I was reading its README file and saw that the OS is created on Linux! As an OS related to Microsoft, I didn’t expect it! […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

